Posted in English

Check your progress

1 Grammar

a Complete the sentences. Use the past simple passive form of the verbs.
1. The Statue of Liberty was built (build) in France.
2. It was a terrible accident. How many people were killed (kill)?
3. Tomas fell off his bike yesterday, but he was not injured (not injure).
4. We didn’t play well yesterday. We Were beaten (beat) 4-0!
5. When the volcano erupted, the noise was heard (hear) 200 kilometres away.

b Complete the sentences with a, an, the or – (no article).
My grandparents live in the countryside, in an old cottage. It’s got a bedroom, a bathroom, a living room and a kitchen. The bedroom and the living room are quite big, but kitchen’s very small! I love the cottages like my grandparents’.

c Complete the sentences with too much/too many or not (not) enough.
1. There’s nowhere to sit – there aren’t enough chairs here!
2. I couldn’t finish the test because there wasn’t enough time.
3. I feel sick – I think I’ve eaten too much chocolate!
4. I didn’t really enjoy my visit to Rome because there were too many tourists everywhere.

d Complete the sentences with will or be going to.
1. Next summer we‘re going (go) to Spain for our holiday. We’ve booked the flights.
2. I’ve put some old clothes on because I’m going to wash (wash) my dad’s car for him.
3. What time will we meet (meet) John this evening?
4. Please can you lend me some money? I promise will pay (pay) you back on Friday.

2 Vocabulary

a Underline the odd one out.
1. damage destroy hurt rescue
2. bungalow garage cottage flat
3. flood earthquake tsunami bomb
4. TV aerial semi-detached house chimney gate
5. caravan terraced house bungalow detached house

b Complete the sentences with the correct words from the box. Use the correct form when necessary.
volcano essential floods TV aerial hurricanes eventually
1. On average, floods kill about 140 people a year in the USA.
2. Lots of people lost their lives when the volcano erupted.
3. People living in the Caribbean are sometimes hit by hurricanes.
4. The catastrophe caused a lot of damage and eventually the government had to help.
5. This information is essential for people who live in areas with lots of earthquakes.
6. We didn’t watch the match – there was a problem with the TV aerial.