Posted in English 9

English

1. Combine words in the box to make phrases.
rely on someone
keep in touch with someone
make friends
depend on someone
a close friend
get on well with someone

2. Answer the questions.
Another way of saying ‘stay in contact with someone’ is keep in touch.
1. Rely (on) is a verb. What’s the adjective? Depend
2. What’s a synonym for rely ondepend on
3. A sociable person enjoys the company of others. What’s the opposite? antisocial
4. What’s the opposite of loyaldisloyal
5. What’s the relationship between people who are friends? friendship
6. What do you call a friend you like very much? A best friend

3. Rewrite the sentences using the words in capitals in the correct form. The meaning must stay the same.
He’s bit antisocial. SOCIABLE – He isn’t very sociable.
1. He likes Ruben. FRIENDLY – He friendly likes Ruben,/ he likes Ruben friendly.
2. She never phones us. TOUCH – She never keeps in touch with us.
3. I don’t have a good relationship with my father. GET ON – I don’t get on well with my father.
4. I became her friend at university. MAKE – I made friends with her at university.
5. My boss is very reliable. RELY – I can rely on my boss.
6. I’ve known Donna for a long time. OLD – Donna is my old friend/ Me and Donna are old friends

5. Circle the correct word.
They were very happy, then something went wrong.
1. Hana’s in a serious relationship.
3. Shall we get together next week?
4. They have lots in common.
5. She went out with Len at university.
6. How did you get to know Anya?

6. Complete the missing words.
went out with Osman for two months, then we fell out over something stupid.
1. I don’t get on with Dirk. We argued with each other a lot, and last week we had a terrible row.
2. I’d like to get to know Anders better because we have a lot in common.
3. Karli split up with him last week and I think she regrets it now; she’s a bit depressed.
4. We have nothing in common. That’s why I regret I could never go out with him.

7. Complete the text.
Milo and I got to know one another when we worked together during the summer. We had a lot in common and got on really well, but, unfortunately, he was in a serious relationship at the time. Then it all went wrong. He and his girlfriend Inez had a big row and he split up with her. We started to go out with each other almost immediately, but Milo soon regrated his decision to end his relationship with Inez. He realized that he was still in love with her, and that our relationship was a big mistake.