Posted in English 9

Unit. 7 I can describe my feelings

1. Complete the words and phrases
amazed
1. anxious
2. furious
3. astonished
4. thrilled
5. heartbroken
6. scared stiff
7. kissed

2. Write synonyms for these words and phrases.
worried – anxious
1. thrilled – excited
2. fed up – miserable
3. scared stiff – terrified
4. astonished – amazed

3. ABOUT YOU How might you feel in these situations? Write your answers using words from the table, or ask another student.
Somone hits your car because they were driving badly. I’d be furious.
1. You’ve just passed an important exam. I’d be anxious.
2. Your best friend has bought a car that you would to have. I am thrilled for her.
3. Your lovely old dog has just died. I would be very heartbroken and miserable.
4. A man walks up to you in the street and holds a knife to your face. I’d be furious.
5. You’re on holiday but you can’t go out because you’ve got a bad cold. I’d be upset.
6. You see someone you don’t know kissing your boyfriend/girlfriend. I’d be heartbroken, but that’s okay.
7. You have been chosen to make a speech at an important event. I would give an astonish speech.
8. You are going somewhere by plane and you don’t like flying. I would sleep or face my ‘fear’.

B. How emotional are you?
YOU AND YOUR EMOTIONS
a I’m an emotional person and I like to show my feelingsNo.
b I think I’m quite sensitive, so I try not to upset other people. No.
c I’m sensitive about appearance. No.
d When I’m in a bad mood, I sometimes hurt people’s feelingsYes.
e In general, I think I’m quite a moody person. No.
f When people have personal problems, I think I’m usually very sympathetic and supportiveYes.

5. Cricle the correct answer.
Try not to hurt his feelings.
1. Sarah’s not very emotional, and tends to hide her feelings.
2. You can talk to Gary easily about your problems; he’s very sympathetic.
3. Be careful what you say to Susan because she’s very sensitive.
4. You never know what Karen will be like because she’s so moody.
5. Brian is the most insensitive man I know; he upsets everyone.
6. Love, anger, and fear are all emotions.

6. Complete the sentences with a suitable word.
Caroline is very sensitive. She seems to know when someone has a problem.
1. Keep away from Elton – he’s in a bad mood today.
2. He upset his parents because he was so rude to them.
3. My children cooked all my meals when I was ill. They were very sympathetic.
4. I broke my leg and it was really painful, but my friends weren’t very supportive.
5. I’m in a really good mood today. I think it’s the fantastic weather.
6. Paul tends to upset people and hurt their feelings

Author:

Բարև ձեզ ես Գոհար Սանոյանն եմ: Դուք այցելել եք իմ ուսումնական բլոգը: Հուսով եմ շուտ դուրս կգաք:)

Leave a comment